1. It is each players responsibility to keep track of which pocket is theirs; opponents are under no obligation ? other than good sportsmanship to correct such an error prior to an opponents shot. A ball legally pocketed in the wrong pocket counts for the player who legitimately has that pocket, regardless of who shot the ball. However, a ball shot into the wrong pocket does not entitle the shooter to continue their inning, unless on the same stroke they legitimately score into their own pocket as well.
2. In the event that a player shooting into the wrong pocket is permitted to continue the same inning at the table (beyond what is entitled by legally pocketing a ball in their own pocket) by their opponents or the referees failure to notify them of their error, such failure of notification does not legitimize any additional balls pocketed in that inning, whether pocketed in the shooters pocket or their opponents pocket. Thus the first shot to the wrong pocket in a given inning is the shooters responsibility, and the shooters opponent is entitled to any balls pocketed on that first stroke. However, any subsequently pocketed balls in the same inning are to be spotted as illegally pocketed balls, because it is the referees or opponents responsibility to notify the shooter before they erroneously continue their inning.