When you join a new social network, you might receive an offer to enter your e mail address and password to find out if your contacts are on the network. The site might use this information to send e mail messages to everyone in your contact list or even everyone youve ever sent an e mail message to with that e mail address. Social networking sites should explain that theyre going to do this, but some do not.